New challenge!

I toyed with the idea of taking a rest day from working out today.   This past month at least, I haven’t skipped a single day of working out while I was pushing towards the goal of hitting the milestone of having lost 100 pounds.  Made it 6 days ahead of my desire to do it before my trip to Vegas.  I understand the “rest day” recommendation but I made sure during that month not to do the same activity two days in a row, so I figured it was ok.

I’ve also been toying with the idea of working towards doing a 5K at some point.  The idea as it was taking shape had me losing another 30 pounds or so and then doing some kind of couch to 5K program.  There have been many treadmill workouts that I’ve thought about attempting to run, but honestly, I have so much loose skin flapping around right now and my workout shorts are pretty baggy so I don’t think it would be a good idea just yet.   Not to mention I have a vision of myself flying off the end of the treadmill into a big heap and embarrassing myself.   This idea to work towards a 5k has really been bouncing around in my head so despite seriously considering taking today as a “rest day”, I decided to do 5K walking on the treadmill and give myself a benchmark time to work from.  I have to say, I was impressed that I did it in under an hour.  In fact, I did it in 56:27.  I am pleased with that for now.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Stephanie C.
    Aug 15, 2013 @ 06:58:19

    Congrats on finishing in under an hour! That’s awesome, and walking a 5K is a perfect start! I believe that you can do this, and I can’t wait to keep reading about your progress!

    Reply

    • dancemom27
      Aug 15, 2013 @ 07:04:29

      Thank you! I have come so far from the days when walking 10 minutes (slowly) was hard. A year ago, 5 minutes on an elliptical machine was all I could handle! I am proud of that!

      Reply

  2. Joanne
    Aug 16, 2013 @ 04:45:47

    That’s not bad at all!! I’m really proud of you! Treat yourself to some more supportive workout bottoms and you’ll feel better about yourself. In the beginning, I always felt like my butt was going to shake off my body if I moved it too hard — but that hasn’t happened yet. lol

    Reply

    • dancemom27
      Aug 16, 2013 @ 04:51:08

      Funny you say this today, Jo! I actually picked up a pair of workout capris today from Value Village and wore them for the first time at Zumba tonight. 🙂 They might hold things in better than the shorts I’ve been wearing that are a bit too big now, at least for attempting to jog.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

