Celebrating what 100 pounds lost means in non scale victories!

There have been so many different things I’ve noticed as I’ve lost the most weight I’ve ever lost in my life.  I will likely add to this list as time goes on as it seems like I notice new things every day.

1.  I no longer have to stop to rest when carrying a basket of laundry up stairs in my house.

2.  Instead of “heaving” myself off the couch and using the armrest to help me to stand up, I just get up in one smooth motion.

3.  I can put my underwear and pants on like a normal person.  I lift my legs up one at a time and put them where they go instead of having to sit down to put them on.

4.  I actually ENJOY exerting myself and getting sweaty in the process.

5.  I can bend down to shave my legs in the shower like everyone else rather than having to prop up my leg on the tub side and hope I’m covering everywhere as I shave.

6.  I can bend down to put socks on and tie my shoes instead of having to sit down to do it.

7.  I can sleep on my stomach again!  Haven’t been able to do that since high school.

8.  I used to plan my errands based on the least amount of walking.  I no longer care how much walking I do.

9.  I used to have to adjust the seat in my car where my feet could reach but my belly would rub on the steering wheel.  To be honest, it didn’t just rub, it was squashed.  Now I can put the seat as far forward as I like and there’s no contact between my belly and the steering wheel.

10.  My seatbelt isn’t pulled to the max.  There was one year I worried about winter coming because I wondered how I’d fit in the seatbelt once I had a winter coat on.  Now, there’s a LOT of slack in my seat belt.

11.  I no longer need a seatbelt extender on an airplane.  That was the most humiliating thing about flying for me…asking for one.  I’m embarassed to say I had my daughter do it for me a couple times.  😦

12.  I no longer have no choices as far as where I can buy my clothes.  So many choices now!

13.  The simple act of turning over to face the other direction in bed is simple now.  It used to be much more of an ordeal.

14.  I can use my laptop as it was intended.  On my lap.  I used to have to balance it on my stomach and knee or utilize the arm of the couch.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Joanne
    Aug 19, 2013 @ 05:55:53

    Oh, this made me so happy to read. You’ve accomplished so much on this journey… Truly wonderful.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

