Good week for the most part!

This has been a great week as far as pushing my fitness goals forward.  My last blog was about my first public/daylight run/walk which was a huge step, but it was also a failed Week 4, Run 1 in my training program which jumped me from 3 minute intervals of running to 5.  I wasn’t sure I was ready, but a few days ago, I felt strong enough to try again, but this time at the gym on a treadmill.  And I did it!

When I do the training runs, I also don’t stop when the training stops.  I do a full 5K every time so I can keep tabs on my time.  So that successful Week 4, run 1 had me running a full 5 minutes MORE than in any other attempt.  Two 5 minute intervals, two 3 minute ones and four 2 minute ones.

Then tonight, worrying that it was a fluke that I did that one, I went again to the gym fully prepared to not succeed but still hoping to, and not only did I do it, but I added one more minute of running for a total of 25 minutes running and 25 minutes of walking including the warm up and cool down.  I got to 5K at 42:30 which I’m very happy with.

Then to top it off, when I got to the gym, I was waiting at the front desk to sign in when a lady I’ve seen at Zumba before but never spoke to came up and started talking to me.  She wanted to tell me that she is so impressed with my progress and wanted to tell me that my hard work is really paying off.  Made my night.

Now all of this is balanced out with some bad news I got from my sister tonight.  She had a sore neck for a few days and was tempted to ignore it but ended up going in.  Turns out she has a massive blood clot in her neck, likely due to the chemo.  So please keep her in your thoughts and prayers while it gets slowly dissolved.  She didn’t need this…she is dealing with enough with the cancer and chemo.  😦

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. RainyWriter
    Feb 08, 2014 @ 19:34:39

    First – I am sorry to hear about your sister … and hope everything ends up ok.

    But – you are totally kicking A on the running/training. I know a lot of times people thing those that go to the gym are all looking at them and thinking not so good things…when in reality, I have found that most people are really nice and supportive. I’m glad you are experiencing that 🙂

    Way to go on the training.

    Reply

    • dancemom27
      Feb 09, 2014 @ 18:13:21

      Thank you. I don’t worry as much at the gym, but running outside was a huge issue for me that took a lot of courage and pushing to overcome. It was awesome to have my hard work noticed by someone I hadn’t ever spoken to also. 🙂

      Reply

  2. weight2lose2013
    Feb 09, 2014 @ 00:55:02

    I’m sorry to hear about your sister. Thoughts and prayers sent her way.

    Reply

  3. davidmizrahi
    Feb 10, 2014 @ 11:41:25

    great work with increasing your exercise capacity!! Every couple of weeks try and add on a few minutes or slightly increase the speed of the treadmill and you will before fitter and healthier! good luck!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

